Instagram

📚 Now Reading 📚 ⠀ 📚 Calling My Name by Liara Tamani ⠀ Synopsis: ⠀ Calling My Name is a striking, luminous, and litera…

📚 Now Reading 📚

📚 Calling My Name
by Liara Tamani

Synopsis:

Calling My Name is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self—ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.

This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.

Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.


✨ The great outdoors was ”calling my name” 🤣, so after an hour of reading this morning, I decided to answer with a hiking excursion! My fiancé and I hiked 5.2 miles (285 to 3,477 feet above sea level) in an old mining area in the valley. On one of the peaks, we sat for a break and I read a bit before snapping pictures. So far I am enjoying this book. I was curious to checkout the author’s other works after reading All the Things We Never Knew. Now it’s back to quarantine and chilling at home. Perhaps later I will ride my new bike if I’m not too sore (Newbie biker here 😄! Peep my stories to see my new wheels)!

✨ Have you read this book yet? Let’s mise spoiler-free below! Have you been outside? Hiking is a great way to avoid people and still get out of the house!


💋 xoxo, Kat

P.S. Now it is time for the obligatory hashtag rant! 😃Thanks for checking out this post! I ❤️ #diversereads ! I ❤️ #diversespines I have #readingis but, please don’t blame the #bookstack I am down with #blacknbookish #instareads #yafiction #ownvoices #booknerdigans & #badassbookbabes 🦄

Sincerely yours, #blackgirlreading 🙌🏾!

Happy Reading! 📚

About Author

Book Blogger
Future Librarian

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: